Aloe Vera & Chia Seed Smoothie…

Aloe Vera Leaf…

I happened upon a tiny market stall in town today and spotted a large Aloe Vera leaf. I’d never seen one on sale before and as I don’t have my own plant at home, I bought it. So what to do with it? Well, I’d just watched a documentary called Hungry For Change and it talked about how good gelatinous foods are, these being aloe vera and chia seeds. One thing they are good for particularly is detoxing the liver. The gelatinous fibres move through the intestinal tract absorbing things like the bile salts and with it fat soluble toxins that the liver tries to get rid of. The fibres bind them and passes them through helping to really clean out the liver.

There are multiple uses for aloe vera, including a facial moisturiser, which I’ll try out later with the left over leaf parts I saved. Anyway, I decided to make a smoothie to drink. Here’s how to make it (use organic ingredients where possible):

1 aloe vera leaf (all the green cut off)

1 tbsp chia seeds (soaked in water for 15 mins, don’t drain, it’ll be gel like)

1 banana

2 cups melon

3 tbsp agave nectar

1 tbsp cinnamon powder

1/2 cup soya yoghurt

Blend the aloe vera until its smooth and then add remaining ingredients. Check for taste and enjoy.

Aloe Smoothie…

